La. Family Forum Honors Legislators, Lane Grigsby as ‘Gladiator of the Year’

La. Family Forum Honors Legislators, Lane Grigsby as ‘Gladiator of the Year’

BATON ROUGE — More than 600 pro-family advocates from across the state gathered at Healing Place Church Arena on Highland Road to honor 40 Louisiana Legislators for their pro-family voting records.  The event was sponsored by the Louisiana Family Forum.

The highlight of the event was the announcement that Baton Rouge businessman Lane Grigsby would receive the Family Forum’s highest honor — the Gladiator of the Year Award, a beautiful and quite authentic saber.

When Lane Grigsby’s wife Bobbi and daughters Tami and Tricia saw the sword, they were amazed and had big smiles.  Some in the audience who know Grigsby well said, “How appropriate!”

Grigsby, the founder and chairman of the Board of Cajun Industries, is known for taking a strong stand on conservative and pro-business issues in the state.

Family Forum president Gene Mills praised the 40 legislators and Grigsby for their devotion to the pro-family cause.  Each of the legislators was presented with either a bust of Patrick Henry or a glass trophy for their desks.

Sen. A. G. Crowe, who received two awards during the evening, quipped that he should get an award for getting the most awards.  Crowe has been honored during each of his 12 years in the legislators.  The following is a list of legislators honored by Family Forum:


2012 Louisiana Family Forum

Legislative Award Winners

Outstanding Family Advocates in the Senate — Robert Adley of Benton, Conrad Appel of Metairie, A.G. Crowe of Slidell, Jack Donahue of Mandeville, Elbert L. Guillory of Opelousas, David Heitmeier of New Orleans, Gerald Long of Winnfield, Barrow Peacock of Bossier, Danny Martiny of Metairie, Mike Walsworth of West Monroe, Rick Ward III of Port Allen, and Mack “Bodi” White of Baton Rouge

Outstanding Family Advocates in the House — Taylor Barras of New Iberia, Henry Burns of Haughton, Tim Burns of Mandeville, Simone Champagne of Erath, Greg Cromer of Slidell, James R. Fannin of Jonesboro, Raymond E. Garofalo of Chalmette, Hunter Greene of Baton Rouge, Lance Harris of Alexandria, Kenneth E. Havard of Jackson, Lowell C. Hazel of Pineville, Cameron Henry of Metairie, Bob Hensgens of Abbeville, Valarie Hodges of Denham Springs, Paul Hollis of Covington, Frank Howard of Many, Mike Huval of Breaux Bridge, John Morris of Monroe, Kevin Pearson of Slidell,  Erich Ponti of Baton Rouge, Stephen Pugh of Ponchatoula, John Schroder of Covington, and Kirk Talbot of River Ridge

Family Advocates in the Senate — John Alario Jr. of Westwego, Bret Allain II of Franklin, Jody Amedee of Gonzales, Troy E. Brown of Napoleonville, Page Cortez of Lafayette, Norby Chabert of Houma, Neil Riser of Columbia, Gary Smith of Norco, Sherri Buffington of Keithville, Ronnie Johns of Lake Charles, Jonathan Perry of Kaplan, and John Smith of Leesville

Family Advocates in the House — Bryan Adams of Gretna, John Berthelot of Gonzales, Stuart Bishop of Lafayette, Christopher Broadwater of Hammond, Richard Burford of Stonewall, Thomas Carmody of Shreveport, Stephen Carter of Baton Rouge, Charles Chaney of Rayville, Gordon Dove of Houma, Franklin J. Foil of Baton Rouge, Brett F. Geymann of Lake Charles, John E. Guinn of Jennings, Frank Hoffmann of West Monroe, Nancy Landry of Lafayette, Eddie Lambert of Gonzales, Christopher Leopold of Belle Chasse, Anthony Ligi of Metairie, Joseph Lopinto of Metairie, Nick Lorusso of New Orleans, Sherman Mack of Livingston, Gregory Miller of Norco, James Morris of Oil City, Rogers Pope of Denham Springs, Steve Pylant of Winnsboro, Clifton Richardson of Baton Rouge, Joel Robideaux of Lafayette, Clay Schexnayder of Sorrento, Alan Seabaugh of Shreveport, Robert Shadoin of Ruston, Scott Simon of Abita Springs, Major Thibaut of New Roads, Lenar Whitney of Houma, and Thomas Willmott of Kenner

Life and Liberty Award Winners — Sen. Rick Ward III, Sen. Sharon W. Broome, Sen. John Alario, Sen. A.G. Crowe, Rep. Steve Carter, and Rep. Kirk Talbot

Twitter Digg Delicious Stumbleupon Technorati Facebook Email

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!